skip to main content

DEF CON China Hacking Conference

研讨会

研讨会

English | 中文


星期五


10:30-14:30

14:30-18:30



星期六


10:00-14:00

14:30-18:30



星期日


10:00-14:00



初学者漏洞利用环境部署

Sam Bowne
Elizabeth Biddlecome

在类似CTF环境的研讨会里,你可以学习如何控制可被攻击的Windows和Linux服务器。我们将从简单的命令行注入和SQL注入开始,然后推进到二进制攻击,包括堆栈和缓冲区溢出,字符串格式漏洞和竞争条件。

在参加了这次的研讨会之后,你讲理解软件是如何使用内存,以及为什么计算机很容易将被欺骗的字节当作代码来执行。

我们将攻击32位和64位Intel的系统以及基于ARM的系统。我们将详细研究Windows防御体系,并学习如何攻破他们,包括ASLR、DEP、堆栈Cookies和SEHOP。

我们希望你以前有过C语言和汇编语言的基础,不过不是必需的。参会者需要携带一台可以运行VMware或VirtualBox虚拟机的笔记本参会。

所有资料和挑战都可以在samsclass.info上免费获得,在研讨会结束后也会继续提供。

Sam Bowne是旧金山城市学院的讲师,十年来一直在教授黑客和安全课程。他曾在Defcon,HOPE,RSA,BSidesLV,BSidesSF和许多其他会议上发表演讲和研讨会。他拥有CISSP和博士学位,并且是DEF CON Black Badge的联合获奖者。

Elizabeth Biddlecome是旧金山城市学院的顾问和兼职讲师,为学生和专业人士提供技术培训和指导。她自己对架构,安全性和代码有巨大的热情,为业务需求设计和实施全面的信息安全解决方案。Elizabeth喜欢在网络安全竞赛、黑客马拉松和CTF中使用脚本语言。

人数限制:80
对学生的要求:熟悉C编程和汇编语言,但不是必需的。
学生需要准备的必要实践设备或材料:能够在VMware或VirtualBox中运行虚拟机的笔记本电脑。


对移动应用的逆向工程

Sam Bowne
Elizabeth Biddlecome

在类似CTF的实践研讨会里体验在真实Android与iOS应用找到缺陷的乐趣,你将学到如何避免在自己的应用上出现这些安全错误。

Android应用非常容易被拆包、分析、修改和再打包:部分原因是系统天然的开放性,还有部分原因是大多数公司都忽略了基本的安全措施。在这个研讨会里,参会者将破解来自于美国银行、IBM、哈佛、家得宝、印度政府及其他大型组织的应用。我们将会发现不安全的网络传输、破解加密、不正确的日志和普遍缺乏的二进制安全防护。我们也将分析iOS应用程序的网络传输方法,并观察主要公司的iOS应用中的漏洞。

我们将详细分析Android内部,利用Drozer攻击框架去检查内容来利用其中不安全的活动和内容提供。我们将对一台Android 4.3系统的设备进行安全等级保护降级的攻击,并将Twitter应用的安全保护措施删除。

课程所有资料均可在网上免费获得,并且在研讨会结束后也会继续提供。所有漏洞均为很早以前已经报告给受影响公司的漏洞。

Sam Bowne是旧金山城市学院的讲师,十年来一直在教授黑客和安全课程。他曾在Defcon,HOPE,RSA,BSidesLV,BSidesSF和许多其他会议上发表演讲和研讨会。他拥有CISSP和博士学位,并且是DEF CON Black Badge的联合获奖者。

Elizabeth Biddlecome是旧金山城市学院的顾问和兼职讲师,为学生和专业人士提供技术培训和指导。她自己对架构,安全性和代码有巨大的热情,为业务需求设计和实施全面的信息安全解决方案。Elizabeth喜欢在网络安全竞赛、黑客马拉松和CTF中使用脚本语言。

人数限制:45
对学生的要求:参会者需要有C语言的编程基础。有对Windows应用、汇编语言的开发与调试经验会很有帮助,不过这不是必需的。
学生需要准备的必要实践设备或材料:参会者需携带一台可以使用VirtualBox的笔记本。系统最好是MacOS,Linux也可以,Windows虽然可以用不过会有一定的限制。我们将使用免费的Android模拟器和一个Kali虚拟机。你可以免费下载这些内容,同样现场也有U盘可以复制这些内容。


Hack to Basics - 基于x86 Windows的缓冲区溢出案例,对缓冲区溢出进行介绍

Dino Covotsos

Manuel Corregedor

想了解漏洞利用开发,但对所有最新技术和流行语感到不知所措?

Hack to basics是一门通过现实世界的开发技术提供基础级别的漏洞利用开发技能的课程。这将包括“Vanilla”EIP覆盖到结构化异常处理程序(SEH)开发以及如何使用Egg Hunter实际示例。

在课程结束后,学生会了解x86组装的基础知识,包括利用Vanilla EIP覆盖,SEH开发和使用Egg Hunter的一些真实的例子。这将为渗透测试世界提供一个入口,并打下强大的工作基础,以便更容易地过渡到现有的更新的,更先进的技术。

为了充分利用此培训,应事先学习以下内容:

FuzzySecurity:
http://www.fuzzysecurity.com/tutorials/expDev/1.html
http://www.fuzzysecurity.com/tutorials/expDev/2.html
http://www.fuzzysecurity.com/tutorials/expDev/3.html
http://www.fuzzysecurity.com/tutorials/expDev/4.html

Corelan:
https://www.corelan.be/index.php/2009/07/19/exploit-writing-tutorial-part-1-stack-based-overflows/
https://www.corelan.be/index.php/2009/07/23/writing-buffer-overflow-exploits-a-quick-and-basic-tutorial-part-2/
https://www.corelan.be/index.php/2009/07/25/writing-buffer-overflow-exploits-a-quick-and-basic-tutorial-part-3-seh/

我们将使用Python来构建我们的工具,结合Immunity或OllyDBG等调试器,建议您提前熟悉它们。

Dino Covotsos是Telspace Systems的创始人兼首席执行官,Telspace Systems是一家由南非全资投资的IT安全公司,始于2002年。Covotsos在信息安全领域拥有多年经验,并参与了全球数百个信息安全项目。他还是国际会议的著名主持人,包括Hack In the Box(HITB),Sector,H2HC,Defcon(Recon Village)等等。 Covotsos也对信息安全社区充满热情,并参与各种社区项目。 Covotsos是ITWeb安全峰会的顾问委员会,并拥有多项行业认证,如OSCE,OSCP,OSWP和CREST CRT。

最大班级大小:33
对学生的要求:在使用编译器和调试器的基本经验,最好是Immunity或Olly。 最好有2 到3年的渗透测试经验。 有使用Kali linux的经验,因为主要使用这个操作系统进行操作。
学生需要准备的必要实践设备或材料:具有以下规格或更高规格的笔记本电脑:
Intel(R)Core(TM)i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70GHz(或AMD等效产品)
8GB RAM
预装有Kali Linux(x86最好)
无线网络适配器+以太网适配器

黑掉 Wifi

Philippe Delteil
Guillermo Pilleux

无线网络(Wifi)是现在最常用的网络模式并且人们并不是真的知道它有多么可被攻击,即使时是使用WPA/WPA2 企业级加密。 在本次的研讨会中,我们将介绍现在广泛应用的wifi加密方式与他们如何工作的以及破解理论。此外,你将可以在一些真实场景的无线网络应用这些知识。 一些加密方法在数学方面很难破解,因为破解可能需要使用毕生的时间。不过不用担心,我们依旧有方法通过中间人(MITM)攻击来解决这个问题。注意!你永远不知道你正在连接的热点是哪个网络接入点,谁在监听你。 有没有想过如何获得某人的密码?在本次研讨会之后,你就会在受害者什么都不知道的情况下通过wifi钓鱼或DNS客户端欺骗来获得密码。 你需要提前了解:

  • Linux命令行(sed、awk、grep和基础命令);
  • 基本的shell脚本;
  • 关于WEP/WPA/WPA2/WPS的基本知识。

在这里你将学到:

  • Wifi安全是如何运作的;
  • 如何监听一个Wifi网络;
  • 如何进行并自动化Wifi攻击(WEP/WPA/WPA2(个人级与企业级)/WPS);
  • 如何使用云计算破解密码(GpuHash.me、亚马逊云计算 EC2);
  • 如何使用你自己的GPU破解密码(如果你有GPU)。

这门课的课时计划

  • 40%理论和概念;
  • 60%编写并测试命令/脚本并对wifi进行攻击。

我们将使用这些工具: aircrack-ng (ifconfig, iwconfig, airmon-ng, airodump-ng, aireplay-ng, aircrack-ng, airbase-ng, airdecap-ng);
Reaver (reaver, wash);
Radius Servers (radiusd);
Pyrit;
tshark/Wireshark/tcpdump;
Ettercap。

你需要提前阅读的内容:
Vivek Ramachandran & Cameron Buchanan, 2015, Kali Linux Wireless Penetration Testing Beginner’s Guide, Birmingham B3 2PB, United Kingdom
译者注:中文版书名为《Kali Linux无线渗透测试指南》 ISBN:9787115483683 各大电商有售。

Philippe Delteil是智利大学的计算机科学工程师,他在Defcon 26 Skytalks上发表了他的第一个演讲,称为“公共卫生部门的黑客恐怖故事”,他的国家政府派出3名官员来记录谈话,超过3部委关闭他们所有的信息系统,以避免Philippe会发现一些严重的错误,而且Defcon的参与者会破坏政府,但这些系统只在周五到周一暂停服务,就是黑客们开工的时候。在巴西居住期间,他攻击了最大的ISP的3,000多个wifi路由器。大多数时候,他在各种网站上免费提供各种课程:CTF,渗透测试,编程,基本的计算机知识。在过去的3个月里,他一直在研究Wifi黑客攻击。他的公司名称非常睿智:Info-sec。

Guillermo Pilleux在智利大学计算机科学专业取得了计算机科学学士学位。 “CTF和渗透测试简介”研讨会的前学生。 Info-Sec公司的实习生,在做Wifi黑客攻击研究。 OneClick的创始人兼首席执行官,OneClick是一种房地产账单支付的自动化解决方案。曾在危地马拉从事光学领域的HTR(手写文本识别)研究。 Defcon 27将是他第一次在Defcon,他希望能够讲好。

人数限制:30
对学生的要求: Shell脚本基本技能; 基本Linux命令; 基础网络知识;
学生需要准备的必要实践设备或材料:使用Kali Linux(本机或虚拟机)的笔记本电脑。允许数据包注入的无线网卡适配器(ALFA型号,AWUS036NHA或类似产品)。

“黑掉”DEFCON CHINA 1.0胸卡研讨会

Joe Grand

想要深入了解DEFCON CHINA 1.0 的胸卡并发现其中隐藏的秘密吗?在这个研讨会,胸卡设计者Joe Grand将讨论胸卡的基本细节,并指导你搭建开发环境,探索和自定义固件等等。

Joe Grand(@joegrand),也被称为Kingpin,他是一名计算机工程师、硬件黑客、DEFCON胸卡设计者、教师、顾问、跑步者、父亲、名誉医生、电视主持人、传奇黑客组织L0pht Heavy Industries的成员,还有Grand Idea Studio (grandideastudio.com)的所有者。他自从20世纪80年代就一直在创造、探索和操控电子设备。

人数限制:45
对学生的要求:无,无需电气化操作经验。
学生需要准备的必要实践设备或材料:参加者必须携带他们的胸卡和笔记本电脑(Windows、macOS或Linux系统)并事先装好Arduino IDE(https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/Software)


捕获、分析和伪造BLE通信

胡一米
郭韬

我们的workshop涉及到的内容是BLE通信安全。我们在日常生活中可以体会到,BLE通信在诸如健康护理或家庭娱乐等行业的应用越来越广泛。所以抓取BLE通信并进行安全分析是一件很有趣的事情。

在我们的workshop中,所有必需的工具,比如CC2540 Dongle、CC Debugger以及相应的软件,都已经备好。参与者只需要携带一台笔记本电脑(预装Win 7或更高版本的操作系统)即可。

针对BLE通信,我们准备了三款生活中常见的设备:智能灯泡、智能门锁以及智能手环。我们将整个workshop分成了三个部分,每个部分会针对一款设备进行研究。此外我们还设置了一些挑战,每位参与者都可以用我们提供的工具对之前研究的设备进行攻击。

参与到我们的workshop中来,需要你:最好熟悉安卓开发/逆向或嵌入式开发/逆向,当然我们也会考虑到没有相关经验的同学们。

你将学到:

  • 、BLE的基础知识;
  • 2、嗅探周围的BLE通信;
  • 3、发送数据包,“非法”控制设备;
  • 4、伪造数据包,欺骗控制端;

胡一米,DC0086成员,就职于北京未来安全信息技术有限公司,胖猴实验室高级安全研究院。胡一米在IoT安全研究领域拥有数年工作经验,对如三星、霍尼韦尔等知名厂商的产品进行过深入研究,向CVE及CNNVD提交了许多关于智能门锁、IP摄像头和其他设备的漏洞。

郭韬,北京未来安全信息技术有限公司安全研究员,胖猴实验室和DC0086成员,曾有多年嵌入式设备开发经验,现专注于嵌入式设备的安全研究,目前已经发现了数个国内外知名智能门锁品牌的安全漏洞。

人数限制:50
对学生的要求:初级Android开发/逆向工程或嵌入式开发/逆向工程经验。
学生需要准备的必要实践设备或材料:装有Windows 7或更高版本Windows系统的笔记本电脑。 同时建议使用Android手机。

高级自定义网络协议模糊测试

Joshua Pereyda

亲身体验编写自定义网络协议模糊测试。这门课将介绍“智能测试”网络协议的基础知识。联系将利用开源模糊测试框架boofuzz进行测试。参会者将获得对网络协议进行逆向工程的实践、实现与自定义模糊器迭代,以及识别漏洞。

在此之后:

  • 你将了解模糊测试的基础知识;
  • 你将了解如何使用最先进的开源工具编写自定义的网络协议模糊器;
  • 你将亲身体验这种广泛讨论却很神秘的测试方法。

在此之前,你需要:

  • 习惯用Python写一些基本的程序;
  • 理解网络协议的基本概念(例如什么是协议以及什么是网络层);
  • 熟练使用WireShark并知道如何使用;
  • 携带一台至少8GB内存的笔记本电脑。

在这里你不会学到:

  • 漏洞开发;
  • Python编程,因为你已经可以做到了。

模糊测试是一个广泛而深入的领域,并拥有相当大的技术含量。这门课程对初学者很友好,是深入了解模糊测试的一个基石。

Joshua是一名专注于信息和网络安全的软件工程师。他曾在关键基础设施和云计算行业工作,他的雇主在软件和硬件安全方面投入巨大。他的热情包括黑客攻击,教孩子们编程,和他的妻子一起参加管弦乐音乐会,并弄清楚他是如何合法得到报酬的呢?。

Joshua是boofuzz网络协议模糊测试框架的维护者。

Tim是一名从事信息安全工作的软件工程师。他曾在一家初创公司和数据分析公司工作过。他目前在关键基础设施方面工作,专注于安全性和模糊测试。他厌恶不安全的系统,所以任何对他寻求安全建议他都会愿意帮助的。Tim经常在网络上进行无偿的模糊测试,并教会其他人也这样做。

人数限制:80
对学生的要求:
- 基本的Python编程经验(必须有一定的编程能力);
- 对网络协议的基本了解;
- 熟悉Wireshark;
- 可选:模糊测试体验。
学生需要准备的必要实践设备或材料:
- 笔记本电脑 - 强烈建议:事先连入Defcon安全Wi-Fi;
- 软件要求将提前通过电子邮件发送给报名者

物理访问控制Workshop

Valerie Thomas

物理访问可以由多种智能设备和简单设备控制。如果您想了解这些控件是什么,它们的工作原理如何,那么这个Workshop非常适合您。在本课程中,我们将讨论物理安全的基本原理、目前已有的和未来的新技术,还有如何将它们相结合来进行red team评估。

基本要素

  • 设备访问概述
  • 认证和识别概念
  • 物理访问控制系统(PACS)基础知识
  • 什么是RFID ?为什么它很重要?

安全攻击

  • 无线射频识别入侵
  • 控制系统攻击
  • 攻破物理控制(栅栏,门点,摄像头)
  • 物理安全的人为要素

综合包含

  • 线下/线上侦查
  • 攻击的策划和执行
  • 攻击发生后的策略
  • 汇报物理访问的发现
  • 修复措施和参考资料

Valerie Thomas是Securicon的技术总监,Securicon是一家专门从事社会工程和物理渗透测试的公司。取得电子工程学士学位后,Valerie成为了国防信息系统局(DISA)信息安全评估的带头人,之后入职了私企。在她的职业生涯中,为管理人员、开发人员和其他安全专业人员进行了渗透测试、漏洞评估、遵从性审计和技术安全培训。

开课程最大规模:30人
课程要求的基础技术:
需携的材料或设备:参加本课程不用带笔记本电脑。学生们将轮流使用预先配置好的设备和工具,在不同的“站点”学习,获得实操体验。课上还会给学生提供一系列工具和其他材料。

skip to main content

DEF CON China 1.0 Hacking Conference

WORKSHOPS

WORKSHOPS

English | 中文


Friday


10:30-14:30

14:30-18:30



Saturday


10:00-14:00

14:30-18:30



Sunday


10:00-14:00



Exploit Development for Beginners

Sam Bowne
Elizabeth Biddlecome

Learn how to take control of Windows and Linux servers running vulnerable software, in a hands-on CTF-style workshop. We begin with easy command injections and SQL injections, and proceed through binary exploits including buffer overflows on the stack and the heap, format string vulnerabilities, and race conditions.

After this workshop, you will understand how memory is used by software, and why computers are so easily tricked into executing bytes as code that entered the system as data.

We will exploit 32-bit and 64-bit Intel systems, and also ARM-based systems. We will examine modern Windows defenses in detail and learn how to defeat them, including ASLR, DEP, stack cookies, and SEHOP.

Previous experience with C and assembly language is helpful but not required. Participants will need a laptop that can run VMware or VirtualBox virtual machines.

All materials and challenges are freely available at samsclass.info, and will remain available after the workshop ends.

Sam Bowne is an instructor at City College San Francisco, and has been teaching hacking and security classes for ten years. He has presented talks and workshops at Defcon, HOPE, RSA, BSidesLV, BSidesSF, and many other conferences. He has a CISSP and a PhD and is a DEF CON Black Badge co-winner.

Elizabeth Biddlecome is a consultant and a part-time instructor at City College San Francisco, delivering technical training and mentorship to students and professionals. She leverages her enthusiasm for architecture, security, and code to design and implement comprehensive information security solutions for business needs. Elizabeth enjoys wielding everything from soldering irons to scripting languages in cybersecurity competitions, hackathons, and CTFs.

Max Class Size: 45
Prerequisites for students: Familiarity with C programming and assembly language is helpful, but not essential.
Materials or Equipment students will need to bring to participate: A laptop capable of running a virtual machine in VMware or VirtualBox.

Reverse Engineering Mobile Apps

Sam Bowne
Elizabeth Biddlecome

Practice finding flaws in real Android and iOS apps in this fun, CTF-style hands-on workshop, and you will be ready to avoid making security errors in your own apps.

Android apps are very easy to unpack, analyze, modify, and repack; partly because of the open nature of the system, and partly because most companies neglect basic security measures. In this workshop, participants will hack apps from the Bank of America, IBM, Harvard, Home Depot, the Indian government, and other large organizations. We will find insecure network transmissions, broken cryptography, improper logging, and pervasive lack of binary protections. We will also analyze the way iOS apps use network transmissions, and observe serious vulnerabilities in iOS apps from major companies.

We will analyze Android internals in details, using the Drozer attack framework to inspect and manipulate intents to exploit insecure activities and content providers. We will perform a protection level downgrade attack on an Android 4.3 device,l removing security protections from the Twitter app.

All class materials are freely available on the Web, and will remain available after the workshop. All vulnerabilities were reported to the affected companies long ago, where appropriate.

Sam Bowne is an instructor at City College San Francisco, and has been teaching hacking and security classes for ten years. He has presented talks and workshops at Defcon, HOPE, RSA, BSidesLV, BSidesSF, and many other conferences. He has a CISSP and a PhD and is a DEF CON Black Badge co-winner.

Elizabeth Biddlecome is a consultant and a part-time instructor at City College San Francisco, delivering technical training and mentorship to students and professionals. She leverages her enthusiasm for architecture, security, and code to design and implement comprehensive information security solutions for business needs. Elizabeth enjoys wielding everything from soldering irons to scripting languages in cybersecurity competitions, hackathons, and CTFs.

Max Class Size: 45
Prerequisites for students: Participant should be familiar with basic C programming. Experience with developing Windows applications, assembly language, and debuggers is helpful but not necessary.
Materials or Equipment students will need to bring to participate: Participants must bring a laptop that can run VirtualBox machines. The host system can use Mac OS (best), Linux (OK) or Windows (usable but limited). We will use free Android emulators and a Kali virtual machine. They will be available as free downloads, and also locally on USB sticks.

Hack to Basics - x86 Windows Based Buffer Overflows, an introduction to buffer overflows

Dino Covotsos
Manuel Corregedor

Want to learn about exploit development but feeling overwhelmed at all the latest technologies and buzzwords?

Hack to basics is a course which will provide you with foundational level exploit development skills with real world exploitation techniques. This will range from “Vanilla” EIP overwrites through to Structured Exception Handler(SEH) exploitation and how egg hunters work with practical examples.

By the end of the course, Students can expect to know the basics of x86 assembly, including some real world examples of exploiting vanilla EIP overwrites, SEH exploitation and using egg hunters. This will provide an entry to the world of exploit development and a strong foundation to work off in order to make it easier to transition to the newer, more advanced technologies which are in place today.

To get the most out of this training, the following should be studied beforehand:

FuzzySecurity:

http://www.fuzzysecurity.com/tutorials/expDev/1.html
http://www.fuzzysecurity.com/tutorials/expDev/2.html
http://www.fuzzysecurity.com/tutorials/expDev/3.html
http://www.fuzzysecurity.com/tutorials/expDev/4.html

Corelan:

https://www.corelan.be/index.php/2009/07/19/exploit-writing-tutorial-part-1-stack-based-overflows/
https://www.corelan.be/index.php/2009/07/23/writing-buffer-overflow-exploits-a-quick-and-basic-tutorial-part-2/
https://www.corelan.be/index.php/2009/07/25/writing-buffer-overflow-exploits-a-quick-and-basic-tutorial-part-3-seh/

We will be using Python to construct our exploits, combined with a debugger such as Immunity or OllyDBG, it it is recommended to be familiar with both.

Dino Covotsos is the founder and CEO of Telspace Systems, a 100% South African-owned IT security firm, which started in 2002. Covotsos has many years of experience in the information security sector and has been involved in hundreds of information security projects worldwide. He is also a well-known presenter at international conferences, including Hack In the Box, Sector, H2HC, Defcon (Recon Village) and many more. Covotsos is also passionate about the information security community and is involved various community based projects. Covotsos is on the advisory board for the ITWeb Security Summit and has several industry certifications, such as the OSCE, OSCP, OSWP and CREST CRT.

Manuel is currently employed as the Chief Operating Officer at Telspace Systems. Manuel has a passion for information security and over the years has gained a significant amount of knowledge and experience in the both the technical (operational) and management areas of information security. Throughout his career he has been involved in information security-related research, training, awareness and advisory projects targeting industry sectors, large financial/government institutions, multinational organisations and SMEs. He has overseen a large number of projects, Manuel also facilitates and speaks at numerous conferences as well as taking part in radio interviews and forming part of specialist panels.

Max Class Size: 35
Prerequisites for students:
Basic experience in assembly and a debugger, preferably Immunity or Olly.
2-3 years of penetration testing experience would be beneficial.
Experience in Kali linux, as this will be used as the primary operating system.
Materials or Equipment students will need to bring to participate:
Laptops with the following specs or greater:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70GHz (or AMD equivalent)
8GB RAM
Kali Linux installed (x86 is fine)
Wireless Network Adapter + Ethernet Adapter

Hacking Wifi

Philippe Delteil
Guillermo Pilleux

Wireless Networks (Wifi) are the most used type of network nowadays and most people don't know really how vulnerable they are, even WPA/WPA2 Enterprise.

In this workshop we will cover most wifi encryptions being used today, how they work behind the scenes and the theory of the cracking process. Also, you will be able to apply this knowledge on the spot with some real-life-scenario wifi networks.

Some encryptions are mathematically difficult to crack, where the cracking process could take lifetimes. But not to worry, there still are ways to get around this with an attack called Man-in-the-middle (MITM). Be wary! You never know to whom's Internet Access Point you're connecting and who's eavesdropping on you.

Ever wondered how to get somebody's passwords of a website? After this workshop you will be able to supplant a website without the victim ever knowing it with Wifiphishing or DNS Spoofing the client's router.

What to know before

  • Linux commands (sed, awk, grep and the basic ones)
  • Basic shell scripting
  • Basic knowledge about WEP/WPA/WPA2/WPS

What you will learn

  • How wifi security works
  • How to audit a wireless network
  • How to perform and automate Wifi attacks (WEP/WPA/WPA2 (personal & enterprise)/WPS)
  • How to use the cloud to crack passwords (GpuHash.me, AWS EC2)
  • How to use your own GPU to crack passwords. (in case you have one)

How technical is the class

  • 40% theory and concepts
  • 60% writing and testing commands/scripts and attacking wifis.

What tools are we going to use

  • aircrack-ng (ifconfig, iwconfig, airmon-ng, airodump-ng, aireplay-ng, aircrack-ng, airbase-ng, airdecap-ng)
  • Reaver (reaver, wash)
  • Radius Servers (radiusd)
  • Pyrit
  • tshark/Wireshark/tcpdump
  • Ettercap

What to read in advance

  • Vivek Ramachandran & Cameron Buchanan, 2015, Kali Linux Wireless Penetration Testing Beginner’s Guide, Birmingham B3 2PB, United Kingdom.

Philippe Delteil is Computer Science Engineer from the University of Chile, he gave his first talk at Defcon 26 Skytalks, called "Macabre stories of a hacker in the public health sector", his country's government sent 3 officials to record the talk, over 3 Ministries shut down all their information systems afraid that Philippe would reveal some serious bugs and that Defcon attendees would hack the government, but the systems only were down from friday to monday, the only days hackers work. While living in Brazil he hacked over 3,000 wifi routers of the biggest ISP. Most of the time, he gives classes for free in various topics: CTF, pentesting, programming, Basic computer knowledge. He's been working with Wifi hacking during the last 3 months. He has a company with a very clever name: Info-sec.

Guillermo Pilleux has a B.CS. in Computer Science at University de Chile. Trainee in Info-Sec company doing Wifi hacking research. Founder and CEO of OneClick, an automation solution for real estate bill paying. Worked in Guatemala for Opticality doing HTR (Handwritten-text-recognition) research. Defcon 27 will be his first time at Defcon, he hopes to survive.

Max Class Size: 30
Prerequisites for students: Shell scripting basic skills
Basic Linux Commands
Basic networks knowledge
Materials or Equipment students will need to bring to participate: Laptop with Kali Linux (native or virtual machine). Wireless network card adapter (ALFA models, AWUS036NHA or similar) that allows packet injection.

DEFCON China 1.0 Badge Hacking Workshop

Joe Grand

Want to dive deeper into the DEFCON China 1.0 Badge and discover some of the secrets hidden within? In this workshop, badge designer Joe Grand will discuss low-level details of the badge and guide you through setting up the development environment, exploring and modifying the firmware, and more!

Joe Grand (@joegrand), also known as Kingpin, is a computer engineer, hardware hacker, DEFCON badge designer, teacher, advisor, runner, daddy, honorary doctor, TV host, member of legendary hacker group L0pht Heavy Industries, and the proprietor of Grand Idea Studio (grandideastudio.com). He has been creating, exploring, and manipulating electronic devices since the 1980s.

Max Class Size: 45
Prerequisites for students: None. No prior electronics experience necessary.
Materials or Equipment students will need to bring to participate: Attendees must bring their badge(s) and laptop (Windows, macOS, or Linux) with the Arduino IDE (https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/Software) pre-installed.

Capturing, Analyzing and Faking BLE Communication

Yimi Hu
Tao Guo

In this workshop, we will talk about BLE communication security. As far as we know, BLE communication has been widely used in healthcare, beacons, and home entertainment industries. Thus, capturing BLE communication and doing some security research on BLE communication seems to be interesting. During this workshop, all necessary equipment is provided, such as CC2540, CC Debugger and corresponding software. Besides, BLE-based devices, such as smart bulb, smart doorlock and smart bracelet which we can find in our daily lives, will be analyzed and attacked. We hope our participants are familiar with Android development/reverse-engineering or Embedded development/reverse-engineering. It's also ok, if they don't. And participants need to take his laptop with Win 7 or higher version. The whole workshop will be divided into 3 parts. And some challenges are left for participants in each part.

Taking part in our workshop, you will get the following skills:
1) Basic knowledge about BLE communication
2) Sniffing BLE communication on the air
3) Sending BLE packets to control devices unauthorized
4) Faking BLE packets to deceive the controller

Yimi Hu, member of DC0086, senior security researcher at PwnMonkey Security Lab of Beijing xFutureSecurity Information Technology Co., Ltd., has working on IoT security for several years. During his career, he has committed many CVEs and CNNVDs on smart door locks, IP cameras and other devices from well-known manufacturer such as Samsung or Honeywell. He is also a public speaker. He has made many speeches at his country and is good at public speaking.

Tao Guo, security researcher of xFutureSecurity Information Technology Co., Ltd., member of PwnMonkey Security Lab and DC0086, has been working on development of embedded devices for many years, and now mainly focuses on security analysis of embedded devices. Since when his attention is drawn to smart door locks, many vulnerabilities on world-famous smart door locks have been committed to CVE and CNNVD.

Max Class Size: 45
Prerequisites for students: Junior experience on Android development/reverse-engineering or Embedded development/ reverse-engineering.
Materials or Equipment students will need to bring to participate: Laptop with Windows 7 or higher version. Android cellphone is also recommended.

Advanced Custom Network Protocol Fuzzing

Joshua Pereyda

Get hands on experience writing custom network protocol fuzzers. This class will cover the basics of network protocol "smart fuzzing." Exercises will utilize the open source network protocol fuzzing framework, boofuzz. Attendees will gain practice reverse engineering a network protocol, implementing and iterating on a custom fuzzer, and identifying vulnerabilities.

After:

  • You will know the basics of fuzzing.
  • You will know how to write custom network protocol fuzzers using state of the art open source tools.
  • You will have hands on experience with this widely-discussed but still largely mysterious test method.

Before (Prerequisites): You should:

  • Be comfortable doing some basic programming in Python.
  • Understand basic network protocol concepts (e.g. what is a protocol and what is a network layer).
  • Be familiar with WireShark and how to use it.
  • Have a laptop with at least 8 GB of RAM.

What you won't learn:

  • Exploit development.
  • Python programming. Because you can already do that (see above). ;)

Fuzzing is a wide and deep field with a wide array of technologies. This class is a beginner-friendly deep dive into one niche of the fuzzing world.

Joshua is a software engineer specializing in information and network security. He has worked in the critical infrastructure and cloud computing industries with employers heavily invested in software and hardware security. Among his passions are hacking, teaching kids to program, attending orchestral concerts with his wife, and figuring out how he can get paid to do it all... legally.

Joshua is the maintainer of the boofuzz network protocol fuzzing framework.

Tim is a software engineer working in information security. He has worked for a startup and data analytics companies. He currently works in critical infrastructure with a focus on security and fuzzing. He cringes at the thought of insecure systems and therefore seeks to improve the security of anyone who will listen. Tim has experience deploying gratuitous amounts of fuzz over the network, and has taught others to do the same.

Max Class Size: 45
Prerequisites for students: - Some basic Python programming experience (some programming ability is REQUIRED).
- Basic understanding of network protocols.
- Basic familiarity with Wireshark.
- Optional: Fuzzing experience.
Materials or Equipment students will need to bring to participate:
- Laptop -- strongly recommended: configure for Defcon secure Wi-Fi access beforehand.
- Software requirements will be emailed to class ahead of time

Introduction To Physical Access Controls

Valerie Thomas

Physical Access can be controlled by a variety of intelligent and simple devices. If you are wanting an overview of what these controls are and how they work, then this workshop is for you. In this class, we will discuss the fundamentals of physical security, current and upcoming technologies, and how to put them all together in order to perform a red team style assessment.

Basics

  • Facility access overview
  • Credential and identity concepts
  • Physical Access Control System (PACS) fundamentals
  • What is RFID and why does it matter?

Attacks

  • RFID hacking
  • Control system attacks
  • Defeating physical controls (fences, gates, cameras)
  • The human element of physical security

Putting it all together

  • Offsite/onsite reconnaissance
  • Attack planning and execution
  • Post-attack strategies
  • Reporting physical access finding
  • Remediation approaches and reference material

Valerie Thomas is a technical director for Securicon that specializes in social engineering and physical penetration testing. After obtaining her bachelor’s degree in electronic engineering, Thomas led information security assessments for the Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) before joining private industry. Throughout her career, Thomas has conducted penetration tests, vulnerability assessments, compliance audits and technical security training for executives, developers and other security professionals.

Max Class Size: 30
Prerequisites for students: None
Materials or Equipment students will need to bring to participate: Laptops are not required for this course. Students will rotate through various "stations" with pre-configured equipment and tools in order to gain hands-on experience. A list of tools and other resources will be provided to students in class.